What is Freemasonry

Freemasonry is one of the oldest social and charitable organisations in the world with the aim to build good people who share a sense of togetherness and unity.

Having no religious or political affiliation, Freemasonry prides itself on four main principles which have been at the heart of the organisation for over 300 years.


Building good people is in the core of Freemasonry as members have a common focus to build themselves as people of integrity.


Freemasons share a sense of togetherness that strengthens their ability to succeed and grow in society while building long-lasting friendships.


Building unity — Freemasons are expected to be of high moral standing irrespective of their race, religion, or other perceived differences that can divide us as a society.


Whether participating in events, fundraising for a charitable cause or volunteering for public or community organisations, service is at the very heart of Freemasonry. Our members make valuable contributions by donating time, resources and skills.

What goes on in a Lodge meeting?

Freemasonry is organised in smaller units of members, called Lodges, where meetings are held, and members meet together. A Freemason Lodge is a place where members will spend a significant part of their journey in Freemasonry and each member can freely choose the Lodge they wish to be part of.

Lodge meetings are typically held in two parts. The first involves more administrative procedures, such as proposing and balloting for new members and receiving news about charitable fundraising. The second part focuses on ceremonies, which might relate to areas such as the admittance of new members or the installation of the Master of the Lodge and his officers – a process made up of three degrees, or stages, each marked by a special ceremony.

The Three Degrees of Freemasonry

Our degrees are based around three principles that are still taught in our ceremonies today: look after those less fortunate, improve yourself and live life well so as to be remembered for the right reasons.

When a person is initiated into Freemasonry, they complete the First Degree and become an Entered Apprentice. This ceremony reminds us that all are equal — it is the responsibility of those that do well to look after those less fortunate.

Upon completion of the Second Degree, a member becomes a Fellowcraft Freemason. This encourages members to better themselves through education and focuses on self-development.

After this, the member will then undertake the Third Degree. This ceremony teaches them how to use their life wisely and be remembered for the right reasons. On completion, they become a Master Mason.

We value diversity and inclusion.
The province of Cambridgeshire

33 Lodges

14 Royal Arch Chapters